Bent River Records is an innovative and artist-focused record label based in Edmonton, Canada that inspires community and student engagement.


 Bent River Records (BRR) is MacEwan University’s record label.  It is an innovative learning lab project that was founded with an aim to respond to the dramatic changes that have occurred in the recording industry over the past 20 years. The label enables artists to access recording and promotional assistance in exchange for providing learning opportunities for students. This exchange builds capacity in the sector with graduates who are more fully prepared for the challenges that lie ahead. The BRR label management team – comprised of students, faculty and alumni from Design, Arts and Cultural Management and Music – work together to realize the concept of a ‘360-degree’ label that includes all aspects of recording, product distribution, promotion, touring, and more.

Conceived and established by faculty members Paul Johnston (Department of Music) and Rose Ginther (Department of Arts and Cultural Management) the BRR label management group consists of MacEwan University faculty, students and alumni.  Bent River Records is one of Canada’s few university record labels and one of the only active university labels in the country. Currently there are six artists on the Bent River Records roster:  Mallory Chipman, Josh Rager (Montreal), Acid Bunny (Montreal), Kent Sangster’s Obsessions Octet, Mike Rud, and the Tom Van Seters/Chandelle Rimmer group.

Bent River Records was conceived and designed with the dual purpose of providing a support network for recording artists while providing an important and rare educational and research platform for students to obtain hands-on experience in the music industry.  The project is entering its third year of existence in 2017/18 and is gaining momentum with three new releases planned for this academic year.


Contact Information
MacEwan University
Allard Hall
11110  104 Ave
Edmonton, AB  T5K 1M9

Bent River Records Team, 2017/18
Barry Boroditsky
Kristjan Buckingham
Mallory Chipman
Charlotte Cuvilier
Rose Ginther
Emily Gryba
James Jackins
Paul Johnston
Brett McKenzie
Abbey Sexton
Terry Smith
Erin Yamabe