Stillness Falls



Track Listing

  1. The Night Wind  (3:46)
  2. Flight  (4:44)
  3. Cowboy Jazz  (5:08)
  4. Moody Hues  (8:13)
  5. Vacant  (4:12)
  6. Exhale  (4:16)
  7. Zion  (6:14)
  8. Into Wishin’  (4:30)
  9. Hop Along  (4:10)
  10. Stillness Falls  (3:55)
  11. Tings  (4:31)

Stillness Falls is the first collaborative project for Canadian jazz musicians Chandelle Rimmer and Tom Van Seters. Separately, they are both well versed in the Canadian jazz scene, having shared the stage with numerous distinguished musicians over the past 25 years. Both Tom and Chandelle are Faculty Members in the Department of Music at MacEwan University in Edmonton, Alberta, where the two-year project that is Stillness Falls began. When they first started working together, they decided that they wanted to collaborate not only as performers, but also as composers. At the time, they knew that they liked to play music together but they didn’t know if they could write music together. They were delighted to discover that in many ways it was easier than writing music in isolation. Sharing in the responsibilities for a composition’s creation and development freed them up in a way that often led to wonderfully unpredictable outcomes. In the process, they discovered that their aesthetic ideals were uncannily aligned.

Buy it here!

Also Available on

Album Credits

Chandelle Rimmer – Voice  |  Tom Van Seters – Piano  |  Jim Head – Guitar  |  Josh McHan – Double Bass  |  Jamie Cooper – Drums

All Selections Composed and Arranged by Chandelle Rimmer and Tom Van Seters  |  All Lyrics by Chandelle Rimmer

Produced by Chandelle Rimmer, Tom Van Seters, and Paul Johnston  |  Recording & Mixing by Paul Johnston
Recorded at The Audio Department, Edmonton  |  Additional Recording at Allard Hall Studio A, MacEwan University, Edmonton
Mastering by Guy Hébert at Karisma Studios, Montréal  |  Executive Producer – Rose Ginther
Assistant Engineers – Erin Yamabe and MacEwan University’s MUSC 467 and MUSC 366 recording classes
CD Packaging Design by Krista Niemi & Katherine Schneider, DESN 330 Typography II, 2017  |  Photography by Ryan Parker
Design and Production Management – Constanza Pacher, Assistant Professor
Generous support for this project was provided by MacEwan University Research Services