Up and Over




Track Listing

  1. Skip (C. Andrew) 5:19
  2. The F-Man (R. de Toledo) 4:21
  3. Stream of Conscience (C. Andrew) 5:47
  4. Dad Bod Blues (J. Cooper) 5:39
  5. Truth Be Known (C. Andrew) 6:49
  6. Luca (J. Cooper) 4:33
  7. Windswept (R. de Toledo) 6:04

Chris Andrew – Piano
Rubim de Toledo – Bass
Jamie Cooper – Drums

All Songs Composed by Up and Over Trio
Tracks 1, 3 & 5 by Chris Andrew, 4 & 6 by Jamie Cooper, 2 & 7 by Rubim de Toledo

The classic piano trio in jazz defines genres. With their inaugural full-length release, the Up and Over Trio pays tribute to the legacy of the trios that have come before it, yet they try to find a unique space in this musical biome. The trio explores the gamut of sounds available to the modern jazz piano trio through original compositions. Taking influence from the classic trios of the past, the trio cultivates a new sound for themselves, which is intriguing and inviting.

As individuals, the trio’s members have cultivated considerable careers as side persons. As a rhythm section, the trio has accompanied various renowned artists. Now for the first time, the trio allows itself to step out and be a singular voice that combines their influences and experiences. The trio pushes forward into interesting sonic landscapes yet remains rooted in the jazz tradition.

The Up and Over Trio would like to thank Paul Johnston and the entire Bent River Records label team for all of their help and support in the making of this album.

Special thanks to MacEwan University’s Provost, Dr. Craig Monk, for his ongoing support of Bent River Records.

Very special thanks to our families for their continued love and support, we couldn’t do this without you.

Produced by Up and Over Trio & Paul Johnston
Recorded at MacEwan University, Studio A
Recorded by Paul Johnston & Padraig Buttner-Schnirer
Mixed by Paul Johnston
Mastered by Guy Hebert, Concrete Mastering, Montreal
Executive Producer Craig Monk
Assistant Engineers: Josh Siemens, Josh Bauer, Max Barrs, Trin Nelson, Chris Larsen, Karen Donaldson, Ryan Payne, Alexa Cable, Micah Carter, Jacob Rabuka, David Knutson, Joshua Banks, Mia Kruszewski, Sawyer Begg, Aaron Addorisio & Ryan Johnson
Album Design by Thia Ma, DESN 231, Typography II, Design, MacEwan University
Design Management by Constanza Pacher, Associate Professor
Bent River Records Team 2021/22: Gladwyn Badger, Brandon Baker, Kristjan Buckingham, Padraig Buttner-Schnirer, Alexa Cable, Dylan Cave, Rose Ginther, Keegan Hewitt, Paul Johnston, Chris Larsen, Carolina Odashima, Valentina Osorio, Larisa Pitchko, Josh Siemens, Ian Small & Kaitlyn Tupper