High School Fantasy



Track Listing

  1. No Fear  (2:47)
  2. Flax  (3:46)
  3. Polymodal Tango  (6:48)
  4. The Doodle  (6:22)
  5. But You Don’t, So…  (3:27)
  6. High School Fantasy  (6:14)
  7. Folks  (11:31)
  8. Interlude  (1:09)
  9. Broken Record  (6:40)
  10. …At All  (2:36)
  11. Happy Ending  (1:01)

Jean-Nicolas Trottier’s Trio, Acid Bunny, is a contemporary jazz trio formed in 2013 by trombone player, composer, and arranger, Jean-Nicolas Trottier, with fellow musicians Rémi-Jean Leblanc on bass and Richard Irwin on drums.  Since then, the group has performed at various venues and jazz festivals including the Montreal International Jazz Festival, the Off Festival de Jazz de Montréal, and the Queretaro Jazz Festival in Mexico. Their first record entitled Acid Bunny came out in September 2014 on Effendi Records.  With compositional styles going from swing to rock, Trottier’s original compositions brings the audience to a universe where free improvisation and formal structures overlap, resulting in a surprising and highly inventive
musical context.

Buy it here!

Also Available on

Album Credits

Jean-Nicolas Trottier – Trombone  |  Rémi-Jean LeBlanc – Basse électrique et pédales  |  Rich Irwin – Batterie

All Songs Composed by Jean-Nicolas Trottier with the exception of “But you don’t, so…”, “Interlude” and “Happy Ending”, Composed by Jean-Nicolas Trottier, Rémi-Jean LeBlanc and Richard Irwin.

Produced by Paul Johnston and Jean-Nicolas Trottier  |  Recorded & Mixed by Paul Johnston
Mastering by Guy Hébert, Karisma Studios, Montreal
Assistant Engineers: Danielle Abel, Erin Yamabe, and the recording classes of MacEwan University 2016
Recorded at Sound Extractor and MacEwan University Studio B on March 25 and 26, 2016
CD Packaging Design by Desiree Billey