Rags and Feathers:
A Tribue to Leonard Cohen



Track Listing

  1. Famous Blue Raincoat  (5:00)
  2. Tune for the Troubadour  (5:23)
  3. Ain’t No Cure for Love  (6:57)
  4. Musings of a Muse  (5:41)
  5. Dance Me to the End of Love  (5:57)
  6. Hallelujah  (6:46)
  7. Suzanne  (4:30)
  8. On the Level  (3:55)
  9. Bird on a Wire  (6:32)

Mallory Chipman remembers hearing Leonard Cohen’s music as a child. “I was drawn to the high female backup vocals that were so gorgeous and ethereal,” says the Edmonton jazz singer, composer and arranger. “As I got older, I started digging into the lyrics and found that there are few artists that are so poetic, and I was really in love with that side of him. Just amazing metaphor and figurative language that he would use to create such a vivid image with his music.” It was inevitable that she combine her kind of jazz with Cohen’s genius. The result is the album Rags and Feathers: A Tribute To Leonard Cohen

“I really do believe it has the power to connect with a lot of people, so I’m really excited about taking it on the road,” says Chipman… Undertaking Cohen, Chipman was careful to balance the songs that would sound best by her musicians with her desire to represent a cross-section of his music. “The music did change and the lyrics did change but the quality didn’t. He may have had different influences that appear during different parts of his career but it’s all so beautiful and all so sensitive and thoughtful.” Songs on the album include “Ain’t No Cure For Love”, “On the Level” from Cohen’s last album You Want It Darker, “Suzanne” and, of course, “Halleluja”.

— Excerpt from Saskatoon Starphoenix article.

Buy it here!

Also Available on

Album Credits

Mallory Chipman – Vocals  |  Chris Andrew – Piano, Keyboard  |  Brett Hansen – Guitar  |  Murray Wood – Bass  |  Jamie Cooper – Drums

All Songs Composed by Leonard Cohen, except “On the Level” Composed by Leonard Cohen and Sharon Robinson,
“Tune for the Troubadour” and “Musings of a Muse” Composed by Mallory Chipman
All Arrangements by Mallory Chipman, except “Hallelujah” and “Bird on a Wire” Arranged by Brett Hansen
Vocal Harmony Arrangement on “On the Level” by Christopher Penningtion

Engineered, Mixed, and Produced by Paul Johnston  |  Mastered by Guy Hébert at Karisma Studios in Montréal
Recorded in 2017 at Sound Extractor & MacEwan University, Edmonton  |  Executive Produced by Tommy Banks
Cover Photography by Batul Gulamhusein  |  Artwork and Design by Jill and Kevin Chipman

This album is dedicated to Mallory’s grandfather, Tommy Banks

More from Mallory Chipman

MALLORY CHIPMAN – Nocturnalize